Music Appreciation… with DJ Groove!

All right… Last week we promised air conditioning at DDPP, knowing that it was hot, hot, hot. Unfortunately, the AC was a big not, not, not. After turning on the AC and blasting it for our whole class, the in-room temperature dropped from 85 to … 84 degrees! Although, ladies, I think our heat-generating dancing was a little counter productive, if I do say so myself.

On to the mix!

We were graced this week with the ever awesome, DJ Groove! Seriously, Groove has got it goin’ on, if you know what I mean. Whenever she DJs, she’s got an amazeballz mix filled with songs that I’ve never heard before, but instantly LOOOOVE. Apart from three songs (Summer in the City, Hey Ya, and Oh Boy! [which I know the Buddy Holly version but not the She and Him version – another new song for me!]), I had never heard ANY of them before. Seriously! My musical breadth is lacking in shameful ways – Katy Perry, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Beastie Boys… I should know these!

After DDPP on Thursday, I ran right home and downloaded “Satisfied” – and let me tell you, it wasn’t the first time a Groove mix has sent me running to find a new song.

I felt like Groove was Jack Black, teaching me about how to rock and roll in funny, yet heartwarming ways.

DJ Groove, thank you for yet again another musically educational mix! And thanks to all our ladies who sweltered it out with us! This week, grab your white gloves and ball gown for the return of DJ Debutante! She’s  raging with her “Hot Temper” mix so plan on joining us… Thursday, 7/28, 6:30, Old Arizona!

DJ Groove’s mix:

Leave a Reply

