Months in the Making

A long time ago, your den mother was once just a groove-bustin’ dancer at DDPP Chicago. Although I loved to dance, I was too shy and/or scared to DJ myself. Finally, after about eight months on the dance floor, I finally busted out a mix (full of international music), and DJ Import–soon to become DJ Reaction–was born. Since then, I’ve never looked back. Instead of agonizing over every song again and again, I can pop out a dance mix in (almost) two shakes of a lamb’s tail, and have now regaled (tormented?) the ladies of DDPP with many a playlist over the past year.

And here, in the Twin Cities, there’s the lovely Judie. Judie has been coming to DDPP for the better part of a year now, dancing almost every week. Only a week or so ago she was the first to complete her card under our Frequent Dancer program. But she had never DJed.

So when Judie told me that she wanted to DJ, I was ecstatic. What musical genius was lurking in that ol’ noggin of hers? We found out this past week, and all I can say is, it was just as awesome as I thought it would be. Judie, aka DJ Groove, rolled out beats that had me thirsting for more–literally; I think I was hitting the water bottle every five minutes.

Excellent job, DJ Groove! Let’s just hope we don’t have to wait another six months for your next mix…Until then, here’s what we grooved to Thursday night!

djgroove10-08-09

Leave a Reply

